Housing Authority of the City of San Buenaventura


The Housing Authority strives to ensure that residents are provided with an environment that is rich in opportunity and in which residents can help shape their community. One way this is accomplished is through Resident Advisory Councils or RACs.  

Residents are 'members' of their respective RAC and have the right to vote on items at meetings.  For example, all residents living at Westview Village are members of the Westview RAC.  

Each RAC meets once a month and all members are encouraged to attend - these meetings offer an easy and effective way to get involved in your community.  



ADOPTED BYLAWS Westview 2019.pdf

VDMC BYLAWS 2019.pdf


Your elected RAC officers:

  • Promote well-being and fellowship among residents
  • Act as a vital link between residents and HACSB management; relaying comments, suggestions, and concerns. 
  • Sponsor gatherings and community events

Once elected RAC officers attend regular trainings to help them in their roles - some of the subjects covered include; roles and responsibilities of each RAC officer, how to conduct meetings, dealing with difficult situations, leadership and advocacy, budget management, by-laws, forming sub-committees, and community engagement.  


The role
 of the CWRAB is to assist and make recommendations regarding the development of the PHA plan, and any significant amendment or modification to the PHA plan.   Meetings are required three/four times a year for this specific purpose.

The CWRAB consists of an elected RAC officer from each of the four current RACs. 

HACSB CWRAB have chosen to meet every month and alternate their meetings between the westside and eastside to accommodate all residents. 


RAC Meetings occur on the 3rd Wednesday of every month:

Gregory Vida East: 11am @ 9620 Telephone Road
VDMC: 3pm @ 137 S Palm St
Westview: 6pm @ 995 Riverside St

Please check RAC meeting flyers for any changes in location.  

Next Citywide Meeting: 

10th October 2019
9:30am at 9620 Telephone Road

Current Resident Advisory Councils:

Westview Village RAC

President:          Celia Zavala
Vice President:   Wanda Sumner                 
Secretary:          Katherine Simonson
Treasurer:         Griselda Vasquez
Sgt-At-Arms:    Laura Munoz

Vista Del Mar Commons VDMC RAC  
President:          Chrys Cortright
Vice President:  Johnny Smith               
Secretary:          Barbara Keller
Treasurer:          Katherine Sotello
Sgt-At-Arms:     Lanny Brannan

Gregory-Vida-East RAC

President:          Michael Limon
Vice President:  Carl Davis
Secretary:          VACANT
Treasurer:         Barbara Bohamed
St-At-Arms:       Pat Escobar

Mid-East Ventura RAC 
President:           Maxine Pauling
Vice President:   VACANT          
Secretary:          VACANT
Treasurer:         VACANT
St-At-Arms       VACANT

Current Citywide Resident Advisory Board:
President:         Celia Zavala  
Vice President: Mike Limon
Treasurer:        Chrys Cortright


Independent 3rd Party overseeing the election process:
The League of Women Voters

Interest Meetings will be held on Thurs 3rd October at the following venues:

BUENA VIDA 9050 Telephone Road 10AM - 12PM
137 S Palm Street 2PM-4PM
1187 Riverside Street 6PM - 8PM

At the Interest Meetings, residents will hear about the election process, meet the independent 3rd party, hear about how to nominate yourself or someone else, view sample ballots and more. 

Election Week is November 4th - 8th
Ballot Count & Results is November 12th 10am at Vista Del Mar Commons community room, 137 S Palm Street

Poster boards with information have been placed in communal areas at properties - please note that the information is subject to change so check back regularly for updates. 

Sample documents:


Transportation will be made available to the Interest Meetings and the Ballot Count/Results Day.  Contact Ricardo on 805 673 3609; at Johnson Drive and 9620 Telephone you can sign up on the transportation sheet by your election information board. 

Home | About HACSB | Fair Housing | Public Housing | Section 8 / Voucher Program | Affordable Housing | Resident Services | Contact HACSB

Public Housing/Affordable Housing: (805) 648-5008    Section 8: (805) 647-5990    TDD/TTY English 1-800-735-2929   Spanish 1-800-855-3000

eop 2010 The Housing Authority of the City of San Buenaventura. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy & Terms of Use.
Please contact our technical support team if you have any difficulty with this website. Website developed by the Housing Authority City of San Buenaventura Award Winning IT Department. Authored By Francisco Camarena.